Menu Close

Deleting vs. Dismissing an Announcement

Overview

For a more streamlined Course Home page Announcement area, you can Dismiss or Delete announcements from the area.

  • Dismissing an Announcement will hide the announcement from you only.
  • Deleting an Announcement removes the Announcement from you and students completely.

One of the more common situations we see occur is when faculty copy all components of a course from a previous semester and ‘dismiss’ the previous semester announcements thinking they are removed for everybody when in fact students can still see those announcements.

(Exception – an Announcement with an end date that has passed and thus has an ‘Expired’ status is also not visible to students)


Dismissing an announcement

To Dismiss an Announcement from your D2L Brightspace My Home or Course Home page click the X on the right side of the announcement.

Announcements widget in a D2L Brightspace course with  a red box around the "X" of an announcement called "Test 2"
 

Once the X is selected, the Announcement is ‘dismissed’ and will disappear from the Course home page for you only.

Announcements widget in a D2L Brightspace course with the previous "Test 2" announcement not appearing in the widget
 

The Announcement will still be visible to students and others in their Announcement widget (unless they dismiss it for themselves) and is still accessible by all in the Announcements tool which is accessed under the Communications dropdown along the course navigation bar.

Announcements tool in D2L Brightspace with a red box around an announcement called "Test 2", which is showing as "(dismissed)"


Deleting an announcement

To Delete an Announcement from your course in D2L Brightspace, select the drop-down carat beside the Announcement title and select Delete.

Announcements widget in a D2L Brightspace course with the dropdown associated with the first announcement expanded. There is a red box around the "Delete" option in the dropdown
 

Once Delete is selected a Confirmation popup will appear. Once Yes is selected, the Announcement is permanently removed from your course. Neither you nor your students will be able to see it any longer.

A confirmation pop-up asking the user "Are you sure you wish to delete the announcement". There are buttons for "Yes" and "No"